EFC | Cavallaro Medal
HomeSitemapLegal NoticePrivacyContactPrint




Call for nominations 2018 - closed

Please click here to download the EFC Award Application Form!

Nominations shall be made in writing to the EFC Paris Office:
European Federation of Corrosion
General Secretariat - Paris Office
28, rue St.-Dominique, 75007 Paris, France





Cavallaro Medal

The University of Ferrara has instituted a gold medal which is to be awarded every two years under the auspices of the European Federation of Corrosion to honour the memory of and the work accomplished by Professor Leo Cavallaro, founder of the Aldo Dacco' Study Centre on Corrosion and Metallurgy of the University of Ferrara, an annexe of the Institute of Chemistry of the University of Ferrara.

Presented in 1965 for the first time, the Cavallaro Medal is awarded to a scientist who is particularly distinguished by his or her activity and publications in the field of corrosion research. Please click here to download the statutes of the Cavallaro Medal.

The Cavallaro Medal is presented preferably on the occasion of a European Corrosion Congress (EUROCORR).
The laureate is invited to give a lecture related to the work for which the medal was attributed.

The call for nominations for the 2018 Cavallaro Medal is closed.
The Medal will be presented at EUROCORR 2018 in Cracow, Poland.

Laureate 2014:

Professor Mario FERREIRA

This year’s winner of the University of Ferrara’s Cavallaro Medall is Professor Mario FERREIRA, nominated by his peers in recognition for his lifetime contribution to corrosion science. Mario is a Full Professor at the Department of Materials and Ceramic Engineering (DEMaC) at the University of Aveiro, Portugal.
Professor Ferreira has made substantial contributions to many areas of corrosion. One focus throughout his career as a researcher has been to create environmentally-friendly and effective coatings for protection against metallic corrosion. He is the co-author of 10 book chapters, 5 patents and has 226 publications in top scientific journals, amongst which his publications on self-healing coatings are much cited. He has been responsible for 55 R&D projects both as coordinator and representing the Portuguese participation, co-financed by several national entities including the European Commission (namely Framework Programmes) and NATO.
read more (EFC Newsletter No 22, p6)

The award was presented to the laureate at the opening ceremony of EUROCORR 2014 in Pisa, Italy.

Laureate 2012:

Professor Yury Igorevich KUZNETSOV

The winner of the Cavallaro Medal 2012 is Professor Yury Igorevich KUZNETSOV, Deputy Director and Head of the Laboratory at the A.N. Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry of the Russian Academy of Sciences in Moscow.

Prof. Kuznetsov's field of research includes the physical chemistry of the heterogeneous processes, ecological aspects of chemical treatment of industrial aqueous systems and of metal protection from corrosion, metal corrosion inhibitors and the passivity of metals and passive state stability. Prof. Kuznetsov is a distinguished scientist in the field of physical and technical chemistry and has received notable fundamental results in his research of metal corrosion and passivation processes, and the interaction characteristics between organic compounds and ions and metallic surfaces. He has also developed effective corrosion inhibitors and devised original methods of obtaining conversion coatings on metals and was chosen for his substantial overall contribution to modern corrosion protection science. He was the first to prove the possibility of absorption passivation of iron by organic compounds which ensures not only protection of metal from corrosion, but also from oxidation. He is the author and co-author of more than 350 publications including a monograph "Organic Inhibitors of Corrosion of Metals" and was chairman of EUROCORR 2010 Russian Scientific Committee.

The award was presented to the laureate at the opening ceremony of EUROCORR 2012 in Istanbul on 10 September 2012.


Previous laureates of the Cavallaro Medal:

2010 - M. SCHÜTZE
2008 - P. MARCUS
2006 - G. THOMPSON
2004 - H. GRAEFEN
2002 - A. TURNBULL
2000 - D. LANDOLT
1995 - F. MAZZA
1993 - J. MAYNE
1991 - P. GELLINGS
1989 - J. OUDAR
1987 - G.C. WOOD
1985 - R.N. PARKINS
1981 - H.J. ENGELL
1979 - E. MATTSSON
1977 - T.P. HOAR
1975 - M. POURBAIX
1973 - C. WAGNER
1971 - U.R. EVANS
1969 - P. LACOMBE
1967 - H. FISCHER
1965 - G. BIANCHI 

© DECHEMA e.V. last update August 06, 2018