EFC | Kurt Schwabe Prize
HomeSitemapLegal NoticePrivacyContactPrint




Call for nominations 2018

Please click here to download the EFC Award Application Form!

Nominations shall be made in writing to the EFC Paris Office:
European Federation of Corrosion
General Secretariat - Paris Office
28, rue St.-Dominique, 75007 Paris, France


Kurt Schwabe Prize

On the initiative of the Hungarian Corrosion Society (HUNKOR), and supported by the "Kurt Schwabe Foundation" the Kurt Schwabe Prize has been established in honour of the late Professor Kurt Schwabe.

The award,  consisting of a certificate and a sum of 500 Euros, is presented every three years to a young scientist below 35 years of age in recognition of his or her scientific and technical contribution to the field of corrosion on the basis of publication.
Please click here to download the rules for the Kurt Schwabe Prize.

The call for nominations for the 2018 Kurt Schwabe Prize is colsed.
The Prize will be presented at EUROCORR 2018 in Cracow, Poland.


The 2015 prize has been awarded to Dr Marta Mohedano Sánchez for her extensive contribution in the field of corrosion and protection of light alloys. Her work is supported by 35 publications; she has participated in 4 nationally and internationally funded research programs and 5 industrially funded research and development projects. Dr Marta Mohedano obtained her degree in Chemical Engineering in July 2006 from University Alfonso X el Sabio of Madrid, Spain. In 2011, she received her Doctorate (Ph.D.) in Materials Science and Technology from University Complutense of Madrid (UCM), Spain.
From December 2013, Dr Mohedano has been a post-doctoral Humboldt Fellow in the Corrosion and Surface Technology group, Magnesium Innovation Centre, Helmholtz Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany. Prior to this (between January 2012 and May 2013) she was a post-doctoral researcher in the group of Characterisation, Corrosion and Degradation of Materials of Technological Interest at UCM, Spain.
Previous awards and honours include the Humboldt Research Fellowship for Postdoctoral Researchers, the UCM Predoctoral Fellowship, the Predoctoral Fellowship for foreign stays (University of Cambridge, UK), Extraordinary Doctorate Award (UCM).
Dr Mohedano's field of study is aimed at improving the corrosion and wear properties for Mg-Al alloys by development of surface treatments using plasma electrolytic oxidation (PEO). In the case of PEO coatings for structural applications, this is done by optimisation of electrical parameters, post-treatments and incorporation of particles from the electrolyte. In the case of biomedical applications the objective is to control the rate of coating degradation and to study the effects of drugs as corrosion inhibitors. To improve biocompatibility, Ca and P are being incorporated into the oxide layer, to achieve a final composition close to hydroxyapatite.

The award was presented to the laureate at the opening ceremony of EUROCORR 2015 in Graz, Austria, on 7 September 2015.

Previous laureates of the Kurz Schwabe Prize:

2012 - Prof. R. SOLMAZ, Turkey
2009 - Ms. L. MARTINELLI, France
2006 - Dr. T. PROSEK, Czech Republic
2003 - Dr. M.P. RYAN United Kingdom
2000 - Dr. I. FELHOSI, Hungary


© DECHEMA e.V. last update August 06, 2018