HomeSitemapLegal NoticePrivacyContactPrint




Call for nominations 2018 - closed

Please click here to download the EFC Award Application Form!

Nominations shall be made in writing to the EFC Paris Office:
European Federation of Corrosion
General Secretariat - Paris Office
28, rue St.-Dominique, 75007 Paris, France





Professor Timothy Burstein














Cavallaro Medal

The University of Ferrara has instituted a gold medal which is to be awarded every two years under the auspices of the European Federation of Corrosion to honour the memory of and the work accomplished by Professor Leo Cavallaro, founder of the Aldo Dacco' Study Centre on Corrosion and Metallurgy of the University of Ferrara, an annexe of the Institute of Chemistry of the University of Ferrara.

Presented in 1965 for the first time, the Cavallaro Medal is awarded to a scientist who is particularly distinguished by his or her activity and publications in the field of corrosion research. Please click here to download the statutes of the Cavallaro Medal.

The Cavallaro Medal is presented preferably on the occasion of a European Corrosion Congress (EUROCORR). The laureate is invited to give a lecture related to the work for which the medal was attributed.

 The recent Cavallaro Medal was presented at EUROCORR 2018 in Krakow, Poland.

Laureate 2018:

Professor Timothy Burstein

Tim Burstein is currently a Distinguished Research Fellow in the Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy at the University of Cambridge. He is the author of over 200 scientific publications and holds several patents relating to electrochemical treatments of stainless steels and corrosion inhibition. He was Editor-in-Chief of Corrosion Science for nearly 20 years, and under his stewardship the journal’s impact factor increased from less than one to greater than five. He co-edited the 3rd Edition of “Corrosion” along with L. L. Shreir and R. A. Jarman. He has received multiple awards in electrochemistry and corrosion, including the U. R. Evans Award of the Institute of Corrosion, the H. H. Uhlig Award of the Electrochemical Society and the Lee Hsun Award of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. Altogether, he is a very worthy recipient of the Cavallaro Medal.
read more (EFC Newsletter No. 26, p9)
Professor Gordon Timothy Burstein was awarded his Cavallaro Medal by the EFC President at the opening session of EUROCORR 2018 in Krakow.

Laureate 2014:

Professor Mario FERREIRA

This year’s winner of the University of Ferrara’s Cavallaro Medall is Professor Mario FERREIRA, nominated by his peers in recognition for his lifetime contribution to corrosion science. Mario is a Full Professor at the Department of Materials and Ceramic Engineering (DEMaC) at the University of Aveiro, Portugal.
Professor Ferreira has made substantial contributions to many areas of corrosion. One focus throughout his career as a researcher has been to create environmentally-friendly and effective coatings for protection against metallic corrosion. He is the co-author of 10 book chapters, 5 patents and has 226 publications in top scientific journals, amongst which his publications on self-healing coatings are much cited. He has been responsible for 55 R&D projects both as coordinator and representing the Portuguese participation, co-financed by several national entities including the European Commission (namely Framework Programmes) and NATO.
read more (EFC Newsletter No 22, p6)

The award was presented to the laureate at the opening ceremony of EUROCORR 2014 in Pisa, Italy.


Previous laureates of the Cavallaro Medal:

2014 - M. FERREIRA
2012 - Y. I. KUZNETSOV
2010 - M. SCH√úTZE
2008 - P. MARCUS
2006 - G. THOMPSON
2004 - H. GRAEFEN
2002 - A. TURNBULL
2000 - D. LANDOLT
1995 - F. MAZZA
1993 - J. MAYNE
1991 - P. GELLINGS
1989 - J. OUDAR
1987 - G.C. WOOD
1985 - R.N. PARKINS
1981 - H.J. ENGELL
1979 - E. MATTSSON
1977 - T.P. HOAR
1975 - M. POURBAIX
1973 - C. WAGNER
1971 - U.R. EVANS
1969 - P. LACOMBE
1967 - H. FISCHER
1965 - G. BIANCHI 

© DECHEMA e.V. last update November 26, 2018