



RULES FOR THE HONORARY MEDAL ٥f THE WORKING PARTY ON NUCLEAR CORROSION THE EUROPEAN FEDERATION OF CORROSION

(Founded and presented by the Working Party on Nuclear Corrosion of the European Federation of **Corrosion – EFC WP4)**

AWARD

- 1. The purpose of the Honorary Medal (Award) of the Working Party on Nuclear Corrosion of the European Federation of Corrosion (EFC WP4) is to recognise achievements by a scientist, an engineer, or group of scientists or engineers, in the application of corrosion science in the nuclear field.
- 2. The award consists of a medal and a diploma.
- 3. The medal is sponsored by the EFC WP4. The medal is donated by the CEA "Corrosion Service" (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives - Service de la corrosion et du comportement des matériaux dans leur environnement). The diploma is donated by the Chairman of the EFC WP4.
- 4. The Honorary Medal of the EFC WP4 is called "Henri Coriou Award", in memory of the first Chairman of the EFC WP4 and the first head of the CEA "Corrosion Service".
- 5. The "Henri Coriou Award" shall be awarded in principle every year, preferably on the occasion of the EFC WP4 meeting or nuclear corrosion session during the EUROCORR.
- 6. On the occasion of the award ceremony the recipient(s) of the "Henri Coriou Award" will be asked to give a lecture related to the work for which the medal was attributed.

DESIGNATION OF AWARD RECIPIENT

- 7. Serving members of the EFC Board of Administrators, the Chairman of the Science and Technology Advisory Committee (STAC), the Chairman, the Vice-Chairman and the Secretary of the EFC WP4 are not eligible to be awarded the Honorary Medal of the EFC WP4.
- 8. The recipient(s) of the award is (are) designated by a jury presided by the Chairman of the EFC WP4. The jury shall consist of the Chairman and the Vice-Chairman of the EFC WP4 and three members nominated during the Fall Meeting of the EFC WP4 (the year before the Honorary Medal is awarded) or by an e-mail ballot right after the EUROCORR. The jury should include one CEA representative. The jury members stay in office until a recipient has been designated and has accepted the award. The jury meets in person or "virtually" (phone/video conference call or e-mail discussion), preceding the date of the award ceremony by at least 1 month. The decision of the jury is by majority vote of the members. The decision of the jury is final. The STAC is informed of the name(s) of the recipient(s).

- 9. Any member of EFC WP4 shall make proposals to the jury for recipients of the award. The WP4 Chairman or Secretary should ask EFC WP4 members for proposals. These proposals have to be addressed to the EFC WP4 Chairman no later than February 28 in the year the Honorary Medal is awarded. Proposals must be received and forwarded to the jury members at least one month prior to the jury meeting.
- 10. If no suitable proposals have been received, the jury may decide not to attribute the Honorary Medal in a given year.

Version 3 - Rules adopted at the Stockholm meeting (2011) and modified at the Graz (2015) and Prague (2017) meetings.