HomeSitemapLegal NoticePrivacyContactPrint


Please click here to download the Grant Application Form!

The call for applications for the 2019 EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant is open.
Deadline: 15 February 2019

Please send your application, preferably by email, to:

Dr. Hélène ILLAIRE
European Federation of Corrosion, Paris Office
28, rue Saint-Dominique
75007 PARIS, France



EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant

Founded and presented by the European Federation of Corrosion

The EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant is an award founded and presented by the EFC since 2016. Its objective is to stimulate interaction and collaboration within the international corrosion community, by providing financial support to junior corrosionists to enable them to visit and interact with other corrosionists at their home institute abroad and to discuss research issues of mutual concern relevant to the field. A special EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant Selection Committee makes the grant selection on the basis of brief proposals submitted. It will be presented at the yearly EUROCORR Conference..

To enter the competition, two applicants submit a proposal, focused on the research area or issue they want to discuss bilaterally at the home institute of one of the partners, using the Application Form. The main applicant should not be older than 30 years on the 1st of September of the year the award is granted, is a participant to the EUROCORR taking place the year when the award is granted, and submits an abstract to this EUROCORR.

The submission deadline is 15 February of the year of the EUROCORR the grant will be awarded. Submissions after this deadline will not be considered.

New: Thanks to a donation of the Chinese Society for Corrosion and Protection (CSCP), the grant is augmented to 4 grants of up to €1,500 or 3 grants of up to €2,000; further, the CSCP will grant direct support to one recipient out of the 3 or 4 awarded, if collaboration includes travelling between China and Europe.

Please click here to download the rules for the EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant.

EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant 2019

The winners of the EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant 2019, along with the topics they will study and the institutions they will visit, are as follows:

  • Yue Guo (University of Manchester, UKCo-applicant Dr. Marta Mohedano (Complutense University of Madrid, Spain) "Multifunctional ldh-peo coatings on Mg alloys for biomedical"
  • Di Mei (Helmholtz Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany)
    Co-applicant  Dr. Tao Zhang (Northeastern University, Shenyang, China) "Eco-friendly conversion coating on a Mg alloy in combination with corrosion inhibitors"
  • Anke Silvia Ulrich (DECHEMA Forschungs-Institut, Frankfurt, Germany), Co-applicant Dr. Alexander Knowles, (University of Birmingham, UK) "Tem of oxide scales on Cr-rich high temperature alloys"
  • Leila es Sebar (Politecnico di Torino, Italy) Co-applicant: Prof. Philippe Marcus, (CNRS-Chimie Paris Tech, France) "Surface reactivity and corrosion mechanisms of Cu-based alloys"

EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant 2018

The winners of the EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant 2018, along with the topics they will study and the institutions they will visit, are as follows:

  • Mrs. Darya Rudomilova (University of Chemistry and Technology Prague, Czech Republic), will visit Dr. Michael Rohwerder (Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, Düsseldorf, Germany) to work on "Hydrogen detection in view of high strength steel microstructure via scanning Kelvin probe force microscopy (SKPFM) measurements".
  • Mr. Paul Johan Denissen (Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands), will visit Dr. Polina Volovitch (Chimie Paris Tech, France) to work on "Towards the understanding of inhibitor release and synergies from coatings for long-term protection by Local Electrochemical Impedance Mapping".
  • Mr. Leonardo Iannucci (Politecnico di Torino, Italy), will visit Dr. Régine Bassèguy, CNRS, Toulouse (France) to work on "Assessment of microbial corrosion in marine and hypersaline environment".
    SHORT final REPORT

EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant 2017

The winners of the EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant 2017, along with the topics they will study and the institutions they will visit, are as follows:

  • Ms. Anissa Célina Bouali (University of Kiel, Germany) will visit Dr. Alexander Lutz ( Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium), in the frame of her studies “Smart coating optimization and enhancement of their components compatibility";
  • Ir. Berk Özdirik (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium) will visit Dr. Patrik Schmutz (EMPA, Switzerland), in the frame of his studies "Assessment of electrochemical H-sorption properties in steel by micro-cell technique”;
  • Mr. Hongchang Qian (University of Science and Technology Beijing, China) will visit Dr. Yaiza Gonzalez-Garcia ( Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands), in the frame of his studies “Shape memory polymer (SMP)-based self-healing coatings”.

EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant 2016

On the occasion of EUROCORR 2016 in Montpellier, France, the EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant was awarded to:

  • Mr. Baiwei Zhu (Jönköping University, Sweden) will visit Prof. Flavio Deflorian (University of Trento, Italy) in the frame of his Ph.D. studies: “Optimization of aluminum alloys, the casting and the anodizing processes for high thermal conductive components”.
    Final report
  • Ms. Elisabetta Di Francia (Politecnico di Torino, Italy) will visit Dr. Delphine Neff (CEA/CNRS/University Paris Saclay, France) in the frame of her Ph.D. studies: “Optimisation of a non-invasive laser cleaning procedure”.
    Final report
  • Ms. Beatriz Mingo (University Complutense of Madrid, Spain) will visit Prof. Mikhail Zheludkevich (Helmholtz Centrum Geesthacht, Germany) in the frame of her studies: “Development of passive surface treatments for magnesium alloys".
    Final report



© DECHEMA e.V. last update October 14, 2019