RULES FOR THE AWARD OF THE EUROPEAN CORROSION MEDAL Founded and presented by the European Federation of Corrosion - (2016 REVISION)

AWARD

- The purpose of the European Corrosion Medal is to recognise achievements by an individual working in corrosion research and development within academe and/or industry targeted at furtherance of fundamental knowledge, innovation and/or best practice underpinning the sound application of corrosion science, technology and/or engineering in the widest sense. The work of the recipient(s) will normally have been conducted primarily within the country/s of the EFC member society/s making the nomination, and certainly within a country that has an EFC member society of good standing, while the recipient was/were holding an affiliated position/s within that country/s.
- 2. The award consists of a bronze medal, a diploma and a sum of EUR 1000.00.
- 3. The Medal is sponsored by EFC. The bronze medal has been donated by DECHEMA. The diploma has been donated by CEFRACOR. The sum of EUR 1000.00 will be provided from the budget of the EFC.
- 4. The European Corrosion Medal shall be awarded in principle every year on the occasion of EUROCORR, the annual event of the European Federation of Corrosion.
- 5. The Medal, including diploma and cheque, is handed over by the Chairman of BoA at the award ceremony.
- 6. On the occasion of the award ceremony the recipient of the European Corrosion Medal will give a lecture related to the work for which the medal was attributed.

DESIGNATION OF AWARD RECIPIENT

- 7. The Chairman of the Science and Technology Advisory Committee and members of the Jury for the Award are not eligible to be awarded the European Corrosion Medal.
- 8. The recipient of the award is designated by a Jury presided by the Chairman of the Science and Technology Advisory Committee (hereafter STAC). The Jury shall consist of the Chairman of STAC and three members nominated by STAC among its members. The Jury members stay in office until a recipient has been designated and has accepted the award.
- 9. The Jury meets in person on a date and at a venue of mutually agreed convenience or at the occasion of a BoA meeting, but in either instance preceding the date of the award ceremony by at least six months. The Jury members are convened by the EFC office in charge of administrative affairs related to the European Corrosion Medal at least 1 month in advance.
- 10. The decision of the Jury is by majority vote of all the jurors. The Chair shall hold a casting vote under the common convention of having a second vote to be applied only if the first vote by all the jurors (including the Chair) results in a tie and further open discussion between the jurors cannot subsequently resolve the tie. The decision of the Jury is final. The BoA and the STAC are informed of its choice.
- In principle, any Member Society of EFC or individual associated with EFC can canvass for potential recipients to be proposed; however formal submission of proposals to the Jury for recipients of the award shall be made through one (or more) EFC Member Society/s in good standing. The EFC office in charge of administrative affairs related to the European Corrosion Medal writes to all Member Societies, BoA members, WP Chairmen, elected STAC members, Honorary Members, Honorary Fellows and former medallists at least 6 months ahead of the Jury meeting informing them of the award and asking for proposals. These proposals have to be in writing addressed to the EFC office responsible for all administrative affairs related to the European Corrosion Medal. Written proposals must be received by the EFC office 2 months prior to the Jury meeting. They are forwarded to the Jury members at least one month ahead of the meeting of the Jury. In its selection of the award winner the Jury is restricted to the written proposals received.
- 12. If no suitable proposals have been received, the Jury may decide not to attribute the medal in a given year.

ADMINISTRATION

13. The Paris Office (CEFRACOR) is in charge of all administrative affairs related to the European Corrosion Medal.

Former Laureates of the EUROPEAN CORROSION MEDAL

- 1985: Dr. DESESTRET France
- 1987: Prof. W. SCHWENK Germany
- 1989: Dr. H. ARUP Denmark
- 1991: Dr. J. WEBER Switzerland
- 1993: Prof. A. RAHMEL Germany
- 1996: Prof. R. N. PARKINS UK
- 1999: Prof. G. WOOD and colleagues at the Corrosion and Protection Center UK
- 2001: Prof. E. BARDAL Norway
- 2003: Prof. P. L. BONORA Italy
- 2005: Prof. D. LANDOLT Switzerland
- 2007: Prof. Dr. E. KALMAN Hungary
- 2009: Prof. V. CIHAL Czech Republic
- 2011: Prof. G. SCHMITT Germany
- 2013: Prof. C. LEYGRAF Sweden
- 2014: Prof. H. TERRYN Belgium
- 2015: Prof. Ph. MARCUS France
- 2016: Prof. L. FEDRIZZI Italy
- 2017: Prof. M.G.S. FERREIRA Portugal
- 2018: Prof. K. NISANCIOGLU Norway
- 2019: Prof. F. MONTEMOR Portugal
- 2020: Prof. S. LYON UK
- 2021: Prof. Dr. D. THIERRY France
- 2022: Prof. A. MOL the Netherlands
- 2023: Dr. M. ROHWERDER Germany