Homepage / Awards / Cavallaro Medal

Cavallaro Medal


The University of Ferrara has instituted a gold medal which is to be awarded every two years under the auspices of the European Federation of Corrosion to honour the memory of and the work accomplished by Professor Leo Cavallaro, founder of the Aldo Dacco' Study Centre on Corrosion and Metallurgy of the University of Ferrara, an annexe of the Institute of Chemistry of the University of Ferrara.

Presented in 1965 for the first time, the Cavallaro Medal is awarded to a scientist who is particularly distinguished by his or her activity and publications in the field of corrosion research.

The Cavallaro Medal is presented preferably on the occasion of a European Corrosion Congress (EUROCORR). The laureate is invited to give a lecture related to the work for which the medal was attributed.

Cavallaro Medal 2020


Professor Fabrizio Zucchi

Professor Fabrizio Zucchi is invited to give a Plenary at the virtual EUROCORR on Wednesday, 9 September 2020. The award ceremony and presentation of the Medal will take place at EUROCORR 2021 in Budapest.

> more (EFC Newsletter No. 27)

In 1968, Fabrizio Zucchi started his University career as a Lecturer in Corrosion and Corrosion Protection of Metals at the University of Ferrara, Italy. From 1980 to 1984 he held the position of full Professor in Chemistry at the Polytechnic of Turin. From 1984 to 2008 he continued in the position of Full Professor, first in Dental Materials within the degree course of Dentistry and from 1991, in Chemistry for Engineering within the degree course of Materials Engineering and then Mechanical Engineering of the University of Ferrara.
Prof. Zucchi has belonged to the ’A. Daccò’ Corrosion Study Centre (now ‘A. Daccò’ Corrosion and Metallurgy Study Centre) of the University of Ferrara since 1960. From 2000 to 2011 he was the Director of the Centre. After his retirement in 2008, he continued to operate dynamically as contract professor with teaching activity at the University of Ferrara, collaborations with the industry and with his scientific activity within the ‘A. Daccò’ Centre until 2016.
From 1998 to 2001, Fabrizio Zucchi was the Chairman of the EFC Working Party "Corrosion and Scale Inhibitors" Working Party (WP1) and Co-Chairman of this WP until 2014.
He was actively involved as co-organiser of the 5-day courses in theory and practice of "Corrosion Inhibitors", sponsored by the Working Party, which was held in1986, 1988, 1993, 1996 and 2001 at DECHEMA, Frankfurt am Main. He has co-organized nine editions of the conference "European Symposia on Corrosion Inhibitors" (SEIC), held at the University of Ferrara from 1960 to 2000 and was the Chair of the 10th SEIC in 2005. These Symposia were one of the most important events in the world, for the dissemination and discussion of scientific topics in the field of corrosion inhibition.
He collaborated at the organization of the "International School of Corrosion", an international school addressed at graduates from developing countries which was held in Ferrara from 1984 to 1988.
He is co-author of more than 200 publications in national / international journals and in books and over 100 publications in conference proceedings.

Cavallaro Medal 2018


Professor Timothy Burstein

Presented by the EFC President at the opening session of EUROCORR 2018 in Krakow, Poland.

> more (EFC Newsletter No. 26, p9)

Tim Burstein is currently a Distinguished Research Fellow in the Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy at the University of Cambridge. He is the author of over 200 scientific publications and holds several patents relating to electrochemical treatments of stainless steels and corrosion inhibition. He was Editor-in-Chief of Corrosion Science for nearly 20 years, and under his stewardship the journal’s impact factor increased from less than one to greater than five. He co-edited the 3rd Edition of "Corrosion" along with L. L. Shreir and R. A. Jarman. He has received multiple awards in electrochemistry and corrosion, including the U. R. Evans Award of the Institute of Corrosion, the H. H. Uhlig Award of the Electrochemical Society and the Lee Hsun Award of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. Altogether, he is a very worthy recipient of the Cavallaro Medal.

Cavallaro Medal 2014


Professor Mario Ferreira

Presented by the EFC President at the opening ceremony of EUROCORR 2014 in Pisa, Italy.

> more (EFC Newsletter No 22, p6)


Mario is a Full Professor at the Department of Materials and Ceramic Engineering (DEMaC) at the University of Aveiro, Portugal.
Professor Ferreira has made substantial contributions to many areas of corrosion. One focus throughout his career as a researcher has been to create environmentally-friendly and effective coatings for protection against metallic corrosion. He is the co-author of 10 book chapters, 5 patents and has 226 publications in top scientific journals, amongst which his publications on self-healing coatings are much cited. He has been responsible for 55 R&D projects both as coordinator and representing the Portuguese participation, co-financed by several national entities including the European Commission (namely Framework Programmes) and NATO.