Homepage / Young EFC / Poster Prize

EFC Poster Prize

presented at EUROCORR

Following a proposal from the Science and Technology Advisory Committee (STAC), back in 2010 the EFC implemented a new award for the best poster presented by a young author with less than 13 years of professional experience (incl. PhD) upon time of the EUROCORR.

The Poster Prize is presented every year at the EUROCORR Conference and its aim is to encourage the submission and exhibition of more high quality posters carried out by young corrosion scientists and engineers, including PhD students, post-doctoral researchers, etc.

The winner agrees that their name and affiliation will be published on the EFC's website and social media channel(s). The winner also agrees to be interviewed by the YoungEFC and to the publication of this interview on the EFC's website and social media channel(s).

The Prize, which is based upon the decision of a STAC-appointed Jury, consists of a certificate and the sum of 500 euros.

Poster Prize Rules

Poster Prize winners



Jingjing Zhao

Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Poster title: "Effect of diatomite surface modification on the loading and release of organic corrosion inhibitors from anti-corrosive coatings"

by Jingjing Zhao, Dong Hyuk Na, Santiago J. Garcia, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands


IMG_EFC Posterpreis2022


Dr. Ingmar Bösing

University of Bremen, Germany
Poster Title: "Modeling Electrochemical Oxide Film Growth"

by I. Bösing, J. Thöming, F. La Mantia, University of Bremen, Germany

EFC PosterPrize2022-Boesing


Vitor Bonamigo Moreira

Politechnic University of Catalonia, Spain
Poster Title: "Influence of alloying elements in the electro-assisted deposition of zirconium conversion coating on aluminum"

by Vitor Bonamigo Moreira, Georgina Fabregat, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain; Jane Zoppas Ferreira, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil; Carlos Aleman, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain; Alvaro Meneguzzi, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil; Elaine Armelin, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain


Urša Tiringer and Gavrilo Šekularac

Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia
Poster title: "The self-healing effect of hybrid sol-gel coatings based on CeO2 nanoparticles filled with Ce3+ applied on AA7075"

by Urša Tiringer, Gavrilo Šekularac, Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia


Alexander Lutz

Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Poster title: "Local electrochemical study of ternary Zn-Fe-Mo alloy coatings on carbon steel"

by Alexander Lutz, Iris De Graeve, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium;
Juliusz Winiarski, Bodgan Szczygieł, Wrocław University of Science and Technology, Wrocław, Poland


Elke Ludwig

TU Wien, Vienna, Austria
Poster title:  "Corrosion of Copper in Combination with Polymers"

by E. Ludwig, G. Ball, J. Frank, M. Bonta, P. Linhardt, TU Wien, Institute of Chemical Technologies and Analytics, Vienna, Austria;
S. Larisegger, M. Nelhiebel, KAI, Europastraße 8, 9524 Villach, Austria

EUROCORR2016 Poster Prize-photo winner


Ingrid MacCarroll

The University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia
Poster title: "Atom Probe Microscopy of Oxidation Products"

by Ingrid MacCarroll, Alexandre La Fontaine, Peter Felfer, Jianqiang Zhang, David Young, Julie Cairney, School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies, The University of Sydney, Sydney NSW 2006, Australia

PosterPrizeWinner2015 internet


A. Vimalanandan

Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, Duesseldorf, Germany
Poster title: "Fundamental Investigation on the Mechanism of Capsule Based Redox-Responsive Self-Healing Coatings"

by Ashokanand Vimalanandan, The Hai Tran, Michael Rohwerder, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH, Max-Planck-Str. 1, 40237 Duesseldorf, Germany; Li-Ping Lv, Katharina Landfester, Daniel Crespy, Max-Planck-Institut für Polymerforschung, Ackermannweg 10, 55128 Mainz, Germany.

PosterPrizeEUROCORR2014ArjanPreisträger Überreichung


Bruno M. Rocha Martins

Insituto Superior Technico, ULisboa, Portugal
Poster title:  "Smart' water-based epoxy coatings for corrosion protection of AA 2024"

by Bruno M. R. Martins, Darya Snihirova, M.F. Montemor, ICEMS, Instituto Superior Technico, ULisboa/P; K. Szczepanowicz, P. Warsynski, Insitute of Catalysis and Surface Technology, Polish Academy of Sciences, Krakow/PL



Katarzyna Schaefer

Poster title: "Investigation into influence of zinc particle size on electrochemical action of zinc rich paints by means of microscopic and electrochemical methods"

Photo caption: Prof. A.F. Cakir, Ms. K. Schaefer, Dr. D. Féron (L-R)



Olga Palazhchenko

Poster title: "Experimental determination of high temperature pourbaix diagrams"



O. Yevtushenko